BRC researchers elected to Academy of Medical Sciences

Twelve UCL academics including BRC-supported researchers have been elected Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the advancement of biomedical and health science, pioneering research and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society.

New Fellows include Professor Olga Ciccarelli, Director of the BRC’s Neurological Diseases Theme; Professor Henry Holden, BRC Core Genetics Lead; and Professor Aroon Hingorani, Director of the BRC’s Cardiovascular Theme.

All fellows from UCL are:

  • Professors Dame Lyn Chitty DBE, Mehul Dattani, and Ruth Gilbert (all UCL GOS Institute of Child Health)
  • Professor Jugnoo Rahi (UCL GOS Institute of Child Health and Institute of Ophthalmology)
  • Professors Olga Ciccarelli, Henry Houlden, and Ley Sander (all UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology)
  • Professor Aroon Hingorani (UCL Institute of Cardiovascular Science)
  • Professors Helen Lachmann and Stuart Taylor (both UCL Medicine)
  • Professor Troy Margrie (Sainsbury Wellcome Centre at UCL)
  • Professor Claudia Mauri (UCL Infection & Immunity).

Professor David Lomas, UCL Vice Provost (Health), said: “I am delighted that the latest cohort of UCL Fellows demonstrates the quality and breadth of expertise within UCL Health with fabulous work being done in genetics and fetal medicine through to systems neuroscience and autoinflammatory diseases.

“Each of the twelve new fellows from UCL has made an outstanding contribution to biomedical science. Congratulations to each of them on this well-deserved accolade.”

Professor Dame Anne Johnson PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences and Co-Director of UCL Health of the Public, congratulated the new Fellows, saying: “These new Fellows are pioneering biomedical research and driving life-saving improvements in healthcare, from understanding the spread of infectious diseases to developing mental health interventions. It’s a pleasure to recognise and celebrate their exceptional talent by welcoming them to the Fellowship.

“This year, we are celebrating our 25th anniversary. The Fellowship is our greatest asset, and their broad expertise and dynamic ability has shaped the Academy to become the influential, expert voice of health. As we look to the future, the collective wisdom our new Fellows bring will be pivotal in achieving our mission to create an open and progressive research sector to improve the health of people everywhere.”