UCLH clinicians elected to Academy of Medical Sciences

UCLH Director of Research Professor Bryan Williams and Consultant Neuropsychologist at UCLH Professor Lisa Cipolotti have been elected Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences in recognition of their exceptional contributions to biomedical and health science.

They have been elected to the organisation’s prestigious Fellowship for their innovative research discoveries and for translating scientific developments into benefits for patients and wider society.

Professor Williams is one of the world's leading authorities on hypertension and is credited with driving changes in clinical practice globally, helping to improve the lives of patients with acute illness. He is Director of the National Institute for Health Research UCLH Biomedical Research Centre and Chair of Medicine at UCL.

Professor Cipolotti, Head of the Neuropsychology Department at the UCLH National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, has led research focussed on how neurological conditions affect cognitive abilities, in order to develop accurate diagnoses and treatment of impairments arising from brain disease or injury.

Also selected for Fellowship in 2021 are Professor Ravindra Gupta, clinical microbiologist formerly of UCLH and UCL and now at Cambridge University, and Professor Sir Jonathan Montgomery, Professor of Health Care Law at UCL who has worked with UCLH in engaging patients and the public around the issue of use of data in health research.

UCL academics Professor Essi Viding (UCL Psychology & Language Sciences) and Professor Ijeoma Uchegbu (UCL School of Pharmacy) have also been elected Fellows.